Dr. Prithvi Raj

(Sept. 13 , 1931 to Feb. 27, 2016)

(Photograph taken after ASIPP distinguished lecture at 2015 Annual Meeting in Florida. Joshua A. Hirsch (moderator), Gabor B. Racz, Devi E. Nampiaparampil, Prithvi Raj, and Laxmaiah Manchikanti.)

Tribute to Phulchand Prithvi Raj: The Man Who Transformed Interventional Pain Management

By: Dr. Laxmaiah Manchikanti

Most interventional pain physicians today assume that the way we currently think and practice interventional pain management or pain medicine has always been part of our profession. Many believe that we are evidence based and everything has already been written and published; however, the interventional pain management name did not even exist when ASIPP was formed in 1998. We face daily criticisms, abuses, overuses, and extinction. Forty years ago, pain management was dominated by story-telling, block clinics, and few people dominating the field without much evidence. There were few written documents and only two complicated texts. Studies were not well designed or executed.

One man made all the difference: Dr. Phulchand Prithvi Raj. Dr. Raj led the development of interventional pain management into the modern era. While we have many of our elders to thank, Raj is the foremost individual who envisioned the future with the publication of Practical Management of Pain, which was easy to understand, clinically based, yet with evidence available at the time.
His contributions to the specialty are enormous. 

He passed away 2 years ago on February 27, 2016. We cherish his memories and ASIPP has honored him with Lifetime Achievement Award, and continues to honor him with the Raj Excellence Award, the Raj/Racz Distinguished Service Lectures, and this year we will give him the highest award ever given in Pain Medicine: Giants in Pain Medicine. Dr. Raj we miss you and your wisdom. You will always be in our hearts, minds, and practices. You have left us with a legacy of wisdom, of care, compassion, and continuing curiosity and exploration, analysis, and scrutiny of interventional pain management. 

We look forward to seeing you at the annual meeting to watch the Giants in Pain Medicine Award be accepted by Susan Raj and the Raj Excellence Award presented to Craig Hartrick.

Raj-Racz Distinguished Lecture Series with:

  • Mesenchymal Stem Cells: Today, Tomorrow, and Future of Pain Management by Arnold Caplan, PhD
  • Evidence Synthesis in IPM: Evolution of EBM or Death of Expertise and Truth by Laxmaiah Manchikanti, MD

  • Click HERE for a photo gallery tribute to Dr. Raj

    Click HERE for the ASIPP 20th Annual Meeting Brochure

    Click HERE to read Dr. Manchikanti's Tribute Published in Pain Physician

    Click HERE to read Dr. Craig Hartrick's Tribute Published in Pain Practice